It’s time for some new sci-fi (writing) conventions

It’s time for some new sci-fi (writing) conventions

Who knew there was air in space?

Who knew there was air in space?

Here’s another article that I wrote for the Imaginary Papers, though this is one I’m particularly proud of (it’s why I’m sharing it despite how old it is). In a basic sense, it discusses some common tropes of sci-fi and why writers still use them despite how out-dated they may be. And while there is some merit to using some of those conventions (making storytelling easier), sometimes it’s more important to strike a new path. Of course, not every convention needs an update, but I think a good handful of them do! Anyway, the article explains my position in more detail.

Oh, right, almost forgot! The reason I’m so proud of this piece is because it got picked up by the superbly wonderful io9. It was probably the highlight of my summer (don’t forget, I’m a pretty new, young writer.)

Leave a Reply

